Pharmacy Residency Program

Welcome to the San Joaquin General Hospital PGY-1 Pharmacy Residency Program. SJGH is a 196-bed teaching hospital located in the Central Valley of California, just south of Stockton and about 10 minutes away from University of the Pacific. It is the oldest county-operated hospital in California, and celebrates its 162nd year in 2019.

In addition to providing acute care services, the hospital operates both on-site and off-site clinics serving the population of San Joaquin County.

In addition to the PGY-1 Pharmacy program, residency training programs offered at SJGH include Internal Medicine, Family Medicine Practice, and General Surgery. The hospital is also a primary clerkship rotation site for students from University of the Pacific School of Pharmacy.

The program is designed to provide the resident with a year of intensive training in the areas of acute and ambulatory pharmacotherapy, as well as the opportunity to build skills in practice management, drug use management, communication, and education. The PGY-1 Pharmacy Residency program builds on Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) education and outcomes to contribute to the development of clinical pharmacists responsible for medication-related care of patients with a wide range of conditions, eligible for board certification, and eligible for postgraduate year two (PGY-2) pharmacy residency training.

Current Residents

2019 - 2020

Sandy Zuo and
Esther Lee

Past Residents

2008 - 2009

Jered Arquiette

Jonathan Hashimoto

2009 - 2010

Quynh Pham

Dereck Lee

2010 - 2011

Saduf Ashfaq

Andrea Rieland

2011 - 2012

Laura Kawamoto

Richard Pigao

2012 - 2013

Duong Nishiguchi

Roma Bhandarkar

2013 - 2014

Renu Grewal

Alex S. Kang

2014 - 2015

Vincent Banh

Gianna Firpo

2015 - 2016

Kyung Kim

Ji Hyun Lee

2016 - 2017

Hee Jae Chung

Michael Cheung

2017 - 2018

Joanie Wen

Ying Wu Liu

2018 - 2019

Regina Padilla

Jefferson Ha